Easy and Flavorful Gluten-Free Au Jus Recipe (2024)

Published: · Updated: by Katie Olesen · This post may contain affiliate links, through which I may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Jump to Recipe Print Recipe

Gluten-Free Au Jus is so simple to make and full of flavor. The perfect accompaniment for many beef dishes. Whether you're looking to replace a packet of Au Jus gravy mix or you want to learn how to make a flavorful Au Jus from pan drippings, this post has everything you need to know about gluten-free Au Jus!

Easy and Flavorful Gluten-Free Au Jus Recipe (1)
Jump to:
  • What is Au Jus?
  • Gluten-Free Au Jus Mix Ingredients
  • How to Make Gluten-Free Au Jus
  • Making Gluten-Free Au Jus from Pan Drippings
  • Variations
  • Storage
  • How to Serve Au Jus
  • FAQ
  • More Beef Recipes You'll Love
  • Recipe
  • Comments and Ratings

If you're coming from the gluten-filled world and trying to figure out how to make a gluten-free Au Jus, my guess is there are two ways you may be thinking of Au Jus.

You are either used to adding a couple tablespoons of flour to your beef drippings to make a light sauce, or you're used to buying the Au Jus Gravy Mix packets from the grocery store to use in your preferred recipes. If you're used to the packets, you're probably realizing those are not gluten-free so you need an easy alternative.

Either way, a simple tweak is all it takes to make a gluten-free au jus. And bonus, making a gluten-free au jus mix from scratch at home is much cheaper than buying those packets at the grocery store, so for once you'll actually be saving money on this gluten-free diet!

Once you've mastered this Au Jus, try making other gluten-free sauces from scratch as well, like this gluten-free béchamel (white sauce), this customizable gluten-free gravy recipe, or this gluten-free spaghetti sauce recipe!

What is Au Jus?

Au Jus is a French culinary term meaning with juice and is used to describe the sauce served with roasted meats, such as prime rib or roast beef. Au Jus is traditionally made from the natural juices released by meat as it is cooked. InAmerican cuisine, the Au Jus is often served as a dipping sauce for Chicago-style Italian beef sandwiches or French dip sandwiches.

Au Jus is traditionally made by deglazing the pan used to cook the meat and then simmering the resulting liquid with beef stock or bouillon, herbs, and seasoning. The result is a simple and flavorful light sauce that compliments the meat and adds moisture to the dish.

Au jus mix is a pre-packaged seasoning mix that is used to make a simple and convenient version of the traditional French sauce. The mix typically contains dehydrated seasonings, such as beef bouillon, onion powder, garlic powder, and herbs, which can be easily reconstituted with water to create a flavorful sauce. Au jus mixes are often used as a time-saving alternative to making the sauce from scratch.

Gluten-Free Au Jus Mix Ingredients

Easy and Flavorful Gluten-Free Au Jus Recipe (2)

Au Jus gravy mix packets are mainly cornstarch and beef bouillon. In this recipe we've added a few extra seasonings to amp up the flavor!

  • Cornstarch: Cornstarch is the thickener for this recipe. It's easy to use and convenient. Other starches, such as potato starch or arrowroot powder, may work as well, but I have not tested them.
  • Beef Bouillon: Be sure to check if your beef bouillon is gluten-free because not all bouillons are gluten-free. I use Orrington Farms brand.
  • Dried Seasonings: onion powder, garlic powder, dried parsley, celery salt, and black pepper add a ton of flavor to the au jus! I tested the recipe with and without the extra seasonings and the version with them was so much better! It had the perfect balance of flavor. But if you really just want a plain beef au jus, feel free to omit the dried seasonings and use just the cornstarch and beef bouillon instead.

The ingredients in this recipe are equivalent to one Au Jus Gravy mix packet. So if you have a recipe that calls for one packet, you can substitute this mixture right in your recipe!

How to Make Gluten-Free Au Jus

Easy and Flavorful Gluten-Free Au Jus Recipe (3)
  1. Whisk the au jus ingredients together until well combined. You can pop them in a blender to whiz them up if you feel so inclined.
  2. Add the au jus mix to a cold pan. Gradually whisk in 3 cups of cold water.
  3. Feel free to add some butter or pan drippings if desired. Turn the heat to medium-low.
  4. Bring the au jus to a boil, whisking frequently. Once the mixture comes to a boil, remove from heat and serve alongside your beef or sandwiches.
Easy and Flavorful Gluten-Free Au Jus Recipe (4)

Making Gluten-Free Au Jus from Pan Drippings

If you've prepared a prime rib or roast beef, you can use the pan drippings and juices to make an Au Jus as well. To do this:

  1. Prepare the au jus mix (or just use plain cornstarch!)
  2. Make a slurry by whisking the au jus mix or 2 Tablespoons corn starch with ¼ cup cold water.
  3. Whisk the slurry into the pan drippings and juices. Add more water if needed to equal about 3 cups of drippings.
  4. Bring the mixture to a boil over medium heat, whisking frequently. Reduce the temperature to low heat and simmer for 2-3 minutes.
  5. Remove the mixture from heat and serve.

If you have more/less drippings than 3 cups, you'll want to adjust the amount of cornstarch accordingly.

Easy and Flavorful Gluten-Free Au Jus Recipe (5)

Pro-Tip: You can make an even simpler au jus by just reducing the pan juices from a beef roast to your desired thickness, like this recipe from Serious Eats. If you were to make that recipe, just be sure to swap the soy sauce for a gluten-free version like Tamari because traditional soy sauce is not gluten-free. The great thing about this option, is that it is so simple and grain-free.


These variations can add another layer of flavor to your Au Jus sauce.

  • Add a splash of red wine and/or 1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce to the pan. This will add a depth of flavor and richness.
  • For a thicker Au Jus or beef gravy, use only 1 ½ - 2 cups of water or add another tablespoon of cornstarch to the original measurements. This will make a delicious brown gravy to serve with your tender beef.
  • Omit the bouillon and water and use 3 cups of gluten-free beef broth instead.
  • Swap the beef bouillon with chicken bouillon for a light sauce to serve with roast chicken.


Leftover au jus can be kept in an airtight container in the refrigerator for 2-3 days. You can even freeze the leftovers in an ice cube tray to add to soups later on.

Easy and Flavorful Gluten-Free Au Jus Recipe (6)

How to Serve Au Jus

Serve au jus with roasted meats, like prime rib, roast beef, or chuck roast. Au jus is a flavorful thin gravy that is delicious when served over instant pot mashed potatoes as well as the roasted meats.

You can also serve au jus on the side for dipping Italian beef or roast beef sandwiches served on gluten-free hoagie rolls. Gluten-free hash brown potato casserole, gluten-free corn casserole, and gluten-free pasta salad are great sides for these dishes!


Is McCormick Au Jus Gluten-Free?

No, the ingredients in McCormick Au Jus contain gluten. The ingredients listed are: Salt, Corn Starch, Dextrose, Hydrolyzed Corn Gluten, Soy Protein and Wheat Gluten, Beef Fat, Caramel Color, Onion, Corn Syrup Solids, Garlic, Spices (Including Black Pepper), Celery, Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose (Thickener), Sodium Caseinate (Milk) & Natural Flavor.

What is the difference between Au Jus and brown gravy?

Au jus is a simple meat broth, while brown gravy is a hearty sauce made with flour or cornstarch, broth, and seasonings. Au jus is thin, while brown gravy is thick.

Are there any gluten-free ready-made au jus options available in stores?

Yes, there are some available but they may be harder to find. Knorr, Watkin's, and Mom's Place Gluten-Free make pre-made au jus mix packets that are gluten-free. When shopping for ready-made au jus, be sure to check the labels for any gluten-containing ingredients and look for a gluten-free claim.

Is Lawry's Au Jus Mix gluten-free?

No, Lawry's Au Jus mix is not gluten-free. It contains wheat proteins and wheat starch. The ingredients are as follows: Salt, Modified Corn Starch, Lactose (Milk), Corn Syrup Solids, Hydrolyzed Corn,SoyandWheatProteins, Onion, Yeast Extract, Natural Flavor (Beef and Pork), Caramel Color, Corn Maltodextrin, Sunflower Oil, Disodium Inosinate and Guanylate (Flavor Enhancers), Molasses, Wheat Starch, Soy Flour, and Soy Lecithin.

More Beef Recipes You'll Love

  • Gluten-Free Chili with Beef and Beans
  • Chicago-Style Shredded Italian Beef Sandwiches (Gluten-Free)
  • Gluten-Free Steak Marinade
  • Gluten-Free Sloppy Joes: Easy From Scratch Recipe

Gain access to ourFREEexclusive mini-series:
Gluten-Free Baking and Lessons Learned!
Plus, be the first to know about new recipes and exciting announcements!
📩Sign up for the Mini-Series Here!📩


Easy and Flavorful Gluten-Free Au Jus Recipe (11)

Gluten Free Au Jus Recipe

Katie Olesen

Enjoy a flavorful gluten-free au jus with this easy recipe made from scratch with simple ingredients.

5 from 42 votes

Pin Recipe Print Recipe Save

Prep Time 5 minutes mins

Cook Time 10 minutes mins

Total Time 15 minutes mins

Course Main Course, Sauces

Diet Gluten Free

Servings 4 servings

Calories 74 kcal


Gluten-Free Au Jus Mix

  • 2 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 Tablespoon gluten-free beef bouillon
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • ½ teaspoon dried parsley
  • ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon celery salt

To Make Au Jus

  • 3 cups cold water
  • 2 Tablespoons butter or pan drippings, optional
  • 1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce, optional


To Make Au Jus Mix

  • Whisk the dry au jus mix ingredients together in a small bowl until well combined.

To Make Au Jus

  • Place the dry au jus mix in a medium saucepan. Slowly add 3 cups of cold water and whisk until combined. Add butter or pan drippings and/or Worcestershire sauce, if desired.

  • Bring the mixture to a boil over medium heat, whisking frequently.

  • Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 2-3 minutes.

  • Remove from heat and serve.


Au Jus is traditionally a very thin sauce. For a thicker Au Jus gravy, reduce liquid to 1 ½-2 cups.


Calories: 74kcalCarbohydrates: 5gProtein: 0.4gFat: 6gSaturated Fat: 4gPolyunsaturated Fat: 0.2gMonounsaturated Fat: 2gTrans Fat: 0.2gCholesterol: 15mgSodium: 581mgPotassium: 51mgFiber: 0.2gSugar: 1gVitamin A: 179IUVitamin C: 1mgCalcium: 15mgIron: 0.3mg

Tried this recipe?Leave a comment and star rating below!

Easy and Flavorful Gluten-Free Au Jus Recipe (2024)


Is au jus sauce gluten free? ›

Yes, there are some available but they may be harder to find. Knorr, Watkin's, and Mom's Place Gluten-Free make pre-made au jus mix packets that are gluten-free.

What is a substitute for au jus seasoning mix? ›

7 Best Au Jus Substitute Ingredients
  • Beef Bullion. You can use beef bouillons as is as a replacement for au jus, but you can also make your own au jus gravy mix from it. ...
  • Beef Stock. ...
  • Bone Broth. ...
  • Onion Soup Mix. ...
  • Beef Consomme. ...
  • Brown Gravy. ...
  • Espagnole Sauce. ...
  • Demi-Glace.
Feb 19, 2023

What is the difference between jus and au jus? ›

Jus is a specific type of sauce, made from meat juice that has typically been derived from a roast. It's thus typically served as an accompaniment to meat, especially roast beef, which is then known as beef "au jus".

Is Mccormick au jus mix gluten free? ›

This product has 1 ingredient with gluten and 2 ingredients that may have gluten.

Is there a difference between au jus and au jus gravy? ›

Like gravy, jus (pronounced zhoo) starts with the drippings from cooked meat. Unlike gravy, however, it is not thickened with flour; instead, the liquid is reduced until it reaches the desired consistency, which is usually thinner than gravy.

What sauce from the Chinese is gluten-free? ›

Beware of Brown Chinese Sauces

Instead, ask for a white sauce made with cornstarch. Many Asian restaurants will use gluten-free soy sauce to make your food if you request it.

What's the difference between au jus and brown gravy mix? ›

Au jus is basically a concentrated version of drippings, whereas gravy is the same thing, only it gets thickened using a roux or another type of thickening agent. In terms of flavor, the difference lies with the cook's personal preference for herbs and spices, which dictate how the meat drippings are seasoned.

Can I substitute brown gravy mix for au jus mix? ›

Can you use brown gravy instead of au jus? Yes! A 1 ounce packet of brown gravy mix can be used in place of the au jus mix. The flavor may be slightly different because there is a different amount of sodium and a different seasoning base, but it shouldn't change the recipe much and it will still be delicious!

Is brown gravy packet the same as au jus? ›

What is the difference between au jus and gravy? Au jus and brown gravy are similar but not quite alike. Both may use pan drippings from the roast, but au jus is a light sauce, while the gravy is thickened using a roux.

What does au jus mean in French slang? ›

The phrase au jus literally means "with the juice" in French.

What is a substitute for red wine in au jus? ›

red wine vinegar and grape juice are usually good subs. I think perhaps cranberry juice would work too in a pinch. But grape juice and/or red wine vinegar are what I'd go with.

What is prime rib au jus made of? ›

Classic Prime Rib Au Jus: 1/4th cup of meat juices and drippings from the roasting pan. 2 cups of beef broth. 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire or soy sauce (optional)

Is Knorr au jus gluten-free? ›

Great for French Dip sandwiches, roast beef, beef wellington, and more, this beef gravy is dairy- and gluten-free and has no artificial flavors or preservatives.

Which McCormick seasonings are gluten-free? ›

  • McCormick Crushed Red Pepper.
  • McCormick Ground Pepper Red.
  • McCormick Granulated Garlic.
  • McCormick Basil Leaves.
  • McCormick Gourmet Organic Anise Seed.
  • McCormick Pure Ground Black Pepper.
  • McCormick's Sea Salt Grinder and Black Peppercorn Grinder.
  • McCormick Ground Cinnamon.

Does Worcestershire sauce gluten-free? ›

Ingredients. The original Worcestershire sauce included barley malt vinegar, making it unsafe for someone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. However, there are many different versions of Worcestershire sauce, including gluten-free versions.

What sauces to avoid when gluten-free? ›

Condiments such as soy sauce, barbecue sauce, mustard, and gravy are often made with gluten containing ingredients, such as wheat, wheat starch or malt flavoring. Be sure to double check ingredients on condiments and sauces or look for gluten free varieties.

What dipping sauces are gluten-free? ›

Fortunately, you have plenty of gluten-free options for the more conventional condiments, too:
  • Ketchup.
  • Mustard.
  • Salsa.
  • Mayonnaise.
  • Hot sauce.
  • Soy sauce.
  • Barbecue sauce.
Sep 15, 2021

What brands of Worcestershire sauce are gluten-free? ›

You will need to stick with the three brands that are safe:
  • French's Worcestershire sauce.
  • Lea and Perrins Original (in the United States only)
  • The Wizard's Gluten-Free Vegan Worcestershire Sauce.
Oct 24, 2022

Is Heinz au jus gluten-free? ›

Is it Gluten Free? No.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Rob Wisoky

Last Updated:

Views: 5581

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

Reviews: 95% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Rob Wisoky

Birthday: 1994-09-30

Address: 5789 Michel Vista, West Domenic, OR 80464-9452

Phone: +97313824072371

Job: Education Orchestrator

Hobby: Lockpicking, Crocheting, Baton twirling, Video gaming, Jogging, Whittling, Model building

Introduction: My name is Rob Wisoky, I am a smiling, helpful, encouraging, zealous, energetic, faithful, fantastic person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.